• May 2015
Add an event

Hot 25: 2009 Honorees
Untitled Page
Published: November 01, 2009

Luke Allen

Producer, O.C. Music Awards; Owner, Gemini Studios
Age: 28
Fact: He’s an Eagle Scout
His take on O.C.’s music scene: “No one sound or style represents the O.C. music scene. We are a confluence of our history and surroundings.”
He’s the music man of Orange County. At age 20, Luke Allen and his business partner, Adam Fogel, started Gemini Studios, a rehearsal facility in Santa Ana. Now, at 28, he has taken on the role of producer of the annual O.C. Music Awards.
Allen managed his first awards show in April. The event drew more than 1,200 local music supporters to The Grove of Anaheim.
“O.C. is currently a great environment for opportunists to establish new music ventures and play a large role in the growth of the local scene,” says Allen, who is also working on a greeting card line called Cards 4 Musicians.
O.C. is home to well-known bands like The Vandals, The Adolescents, No Doubt, The Offspring, Thrice, Jack’s Mannequin, Atreyu and Cold War Kids. The local music scene might be known for its punk roots, but new artists are currently breaking the mold.  
“Today, we may be weighted toward more indie rock. And tomorrow – who knows?”

– Ashley Eliot

OC METRO's 2009 Hot 25 honorees:

Toby Bost  |  Mike Gillespie  |  Anil Puri  |  Sean Collins
Kevin Boylan & T.K. Pillan  |  Dr. Jason Knight  |  Hugh Hewitt
Luke Allen  |  Tina Aldatz  |  Sukhee Kang  |  Glenn Gray
Amelia & Florent Marneau  |  Tim McFerran  |  Tallia Hart
 Bill Sanderson Henrik Fisker  |  Janet Hamada  |  Wayne Gross
Julie Miller-Phipps  |  Michael Ruane  |  Carl St.Clair
  Pretend City Phil Willms Sheryl Bourgeois  |  Steve Nichols

<<< Back to 2009 honorees

Web extra:
To celebrate the 20th anniversary of OC METRO's Hot 25 awards, here are our original Hot 25 honorees, who were featured in 1990.

Doug Rankin  |  Erich Vollmer  |  Dennis Aigner  |  Greg Patton
Janice Mittermeier  |  Carol Stogsdill  |  Carl St.Clair
Anton Segerstrom  |  Christopher Cox  |  Christine (Reed) Iger
Dr. Robert Bade  |  Thomas Mays  |  Mike Goode
Richard Gadbois  |  Rudy Castruita  |  Debbie Miede
Ernest C. Brown  |  Mossimo Giannulli  |  Daniel L. Rasmussen
Cynthia Ellner  |  Kathryn Braun Lewis  |  David Wilhelm

<<< Back to Web extra main page:
first Hot 25 honorees

Readers Feedback:

I vote for Luke! Yeah Luke !!
Comment at 11/7/2009