• May 2015
Add an event

Hot 25: 2009 Honorees
Untitled Page
Published: November 01, 2009

Henrik Fisker

Co-founder and CEO, Fisker Automotive
Age: 46
Fact: He’s a movie buff, but cars are his real passion.
His take on car culture: “If we are to retain our current standard of living in an auto-based culture, we need to be more responsible about how and what we drive.”
Henrik Fisker is a visionary at the forefront of the auto industry’s green car movement. Even more, as the CEO and co-founder of Fisker Automotive, which develops eco-friendly and luxurious plug-in hybrid vehicles, he’s also making it possible to drive in style while preserving the environment: “As a car enthusiast, I still want to drive something that’s exciting and looks good.”
He has been working in the automotive industry for 20 years. Soon after graduating from the Art Center College of Design, he was hired as a designer at BMW in Munich, Germany, in 1989. He later moved to Ford Motor Co., and in 2007, he founded Fisker Automotive.
“We are doing something new and innovative at a time when those set ways are being called into question more than ever before,” he says.
Fisker produces 15,000 vehicles a year. And in September, the U.S. Department of Energy awarded the company $528.7 million to further develop the electric automobiles.

– Ashley Eliot

OC METRO's 2009 Hot 25 honorees:

Toby Bost  |  Mike Gillespie  |  Anil Puri  |  Sean Collins
Kevin Boylan & T.K. Pillan  |  Dr. Jason Knight  |  Hugh Hewitt
Luke Allen  |  Tina Aldatz  |  Sukhee Kang  |  Glenn Gray
Amelia & Florent Marneau  |  Tim McFerran  |  Tallia Hart
 Bill Sanderson Henrik Fisker Janet Hamada  |  Wayne Gross
Julie Miller-Phipps  |  Michael Ruane  |  Carl St.Clair
  Pretend City Phil Willms Sheryl Bourgeois  |  Steve Nichols

<<< Back to 2009 honorees

Web extra:
To celebrate the 20th anniversary of OC METRO's Hot 25 awards, here are our original Hot 25 honorees, who were featured in 1990.

Doug Rankin  |  Erich Vollmer  |  Dennis Aigner  |  Greg Patton
Janice Mittermeier  |  Carol Stogsdill  |  Carl St.Clair
Anton Segerstrom  |  Christopher Cox  |  Christine (Reed) Iger
Dr. Robert Bade  |  Thomas Mays  |  Mike Goode
Richard Gadbois  |  Rudy Castruita  |  Debbie Miede
Ernest C. Brown  |  Mossimo Giannulli  |  Daniel L. Rasmussen
Cynthia Ellner  |  Kathryn Braun Lewis  |  David Wilhelm

<<< Back to Web extra main page:
first Hot 25 honorees