• May 2015
Add an event

Hot 25: 2009 Honorees
Untitled Page
Published: November 01, 2009

Wayne Gross

Litigation Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig
Age: 46
Fact: Prior to Gross’ tenure at the O.C. federal prosecutor’s office, large federal cases arising in Orange County were handled by Los Angeles-area prosecutors. That policy changed under Gross.
What has been the greatest challenge in switching from prosecution to defense? The diversity of big law firm work. Some days, I’m working with CEOs and general counsels of big companies; other days, I’m back in the courtroom arguing in front of a judge. It’s exhilarating.
While many people look for a fresh start in life, the vast majority don’t do it when they’re at the top of their game. And Wayne Gross had reached the pinnacle of his career as a federal prosecutor.
Gross was in charge of several high-profile cases, including the prostitution and stock-backdating case against Broadcom founder Henry T. Nicholas and the UC Irvine fertility scandal case. He has also been honored with awards from two U.S. attorneys general and the director of the FBI.
In 2007, Gross switched to private practice, becoming a big firm partner. Among his big cases: He advised actor Wesley Snipes during the sentencing phase of his tax evasion trial. He also teaches at Chapman Law School.  

– Caitlin Adams

OC METRO's 2009 Hot 25 honorees:

Toby Bost  |  Mike Gillespie  |  Anil Puri  |  Sean Collins
Kevin Boylan & T.K. Pillan  |  Dr. Jason Knight  |  Hugh Hewitt
Luke Allen  |  Tina Aldatz  |  Sukhee Kang  |  Glenn Gray
Amelia & Florent Marneau  |  Tim McFerran  |  Tallia Hart
 Bill Sanderson Henrik Fisker  |  Janet Hamada  |  Wayne Gross
Julie Miller-Phipps  |  Michael Ruane  |  Carl St.Clair
  Pretend City Phil Willms Sheryl Bourgeois  |  Steve Nichols

<<< Back to 2009 honorees

Web extra:
To celebrate the 20th anniversary of OC METRO's Hot 25 awards, here are our original Hot 25 honorees, who were featured in 1990.

Doug Rankin  |  Erich Vollmer  |  Dennis Aigner  |  Greg Patton
Janice Mittermeier  |  Carol Stogsdill  |  Carl St.Clair
Anton Segerstrom  |  Christopher Cox  |  Christine (Reed) Iger
Dr. Robert Bade  |  Thomas Mays  |  Mike Goode
Richard Gadbois  |  Rudy Castruita  |  Debbie Miede
Ernest C. Brown  |  Mossimo Giannulli  |  Daniel L. Rasmussen
Cynthia Ellner  |  Kathryn Braun Lewis  |  David Wilhelm

<<< Back to Web extra main page:
first Hot 25 honorees