• May 2015
Add an event

Untitled Page

American Association for the Advancement of Science names 13 fellows from UCI

Twelve researchers and one administrator join the world’s largest general scientific society

by Gabriel CortésPublished: December 05, 2012 09:15 AM

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has named 12 UC Irvine researchers and one administrator to its 2012 class of fellows. The official announcement appeared on Nov. 30 in the journal Science. These new fellows, along with the 689 other honorees, will receive an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin at the organization's annual meeting in Boston next February.

The distinction recognizes those whose efforts advance science or its applications. The 13 fellows from UCI come from diverse fields of study, including chemistry, developmental and cell biology, molecular biology and biochemistry. Here is a complete list of the honorees:

Bruce Blumberg is recognized for his contributions to the field of developmental biology, particularly for increasing understanding of the interactions between environmental signals and the developmental origins of disease.

Ken Cho is recognized for his additions to developmental biology, such as identifying the mechanism of Spemann's organizer and the importance of growth factor signaling during early embryogenesis.

Andrew Borovik is recognized for developing more efficient chemical processes through molecular design inspired by biological enzymes.

Ron Frostig is recognized for his work in using optical imaging to describe the organization and plasticity of the cerebral cortex.

David Gardiner is recognized for his contributions to the field of regeneration research and for his role in building the bridge between phenomenology and molecular biology.

Wen-Hwa Lee is recognized for advancing the understanding of human tumor suppressors in the cell cycle, differentiation and genomic stability.

Jacob Levin is recognized for helping establish the emerging profession of research development and for outstanding leadership in the National Organization of Research Development Professionals.

Hartmut Luecke is recognized for his contributions to the fields of structural biology and membrane protein crystallography.

Markus Ribbe is recognized for elucidating the biosynthetic pathways of nitrogenase metalloclusters and uncovering novel catalytic features of alternative nitrogenase systems.

Ann Sakai is recognized for her work on the evolution of plant breeding systems and promoting the involvement of underrepresented groups in biology.

Rozanne Sandri-Goldin is recognized for her contributions to molecular virology, particularly for shedding light on how multifunctional viral proteins commandeer host cell pathways to benefit viral replication.

Thomas Schilling is recognized for his work in vertebrate development that has provided insight into the formation of the nervous system and skeleton in early embryos.

Gregory Weiss is recognized for his contributions to the field of chemical biology, especially for expanding the technique of bacteriophage peptide and protein display into new interdisciplinary areas.

Related headlines

UC Irvine recognizes recipients of university’s highest honor
UCI professor recognized in Popular Science magazine
UCI earns accolades for online outreach