• May 2015
Add an event

Untitled Page

Ernst & Young names semifinalists for Entrepreneur of the Year

Of the 26 regional honorees, 13 were from Orange County.

By Kristen SchottPublished: April 09, 2010 10:12 AM

Thirteen local business professionals have been named semifinalists for Ernst & Young's Entrepreneur of the Year award for the Orange County/Desert Cities region.

Among them: Kirsten Mangers, founder and CEO of Irvine-based WebVisible; William Smith Jr., president, CEO and chairman of Aliso Viejo-based Smith Micro Software; and Robert Funari, CEO and chairman of Anaheim-based Crescent Healthcare. There were 26 semifinalists in total.

The group of entrepreneurs was selected by a panel of judges made up of regional business, academic and community leaders and executives. Honors are bestowed upon entrepreneurs who demonstrate their success in innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their companies and communities.

"We recognize the tremendous impact these entrepreneurs have in Orange County/Desert Cities," says Kim Letch, program director for the regional awards. "They are truly on the forefront of the economic recovery."

The finalists will be announced next month, and the winners will be revealed during a gala event June 17 at the Hyatt Regency in Irvine. The national award gala will take place in November, and the winner will then compete for the World Entrepreneur of the Year title.

Ernst & Young, which has local offices in Irvine, has held the program for the past 24 years, recognizing business leaders in more than 135 cities in 50 countries worldwide. It is the world's most prestigious business honor for entrepreneurs.

Here's a breakdown of the local semifinalists:

  • Caryn Brenna Siebert, president and CEO, Carl Warren & Co. – Placentia
  • Robert G. Funari, CEO and chairman, Crescent Healthcare– Anaheim
  • Erik Frechette, founder, president and CEO, Land Interests – Irvine
  • Babak Ghaznavi, president, Paul’s TV LLC – Irvine
  • Liz McKinley, president and CEO, Pinnacle Petroleum – Huntington Beach
  • Jill Gwaltney, CEO, Rauxa Direct – Costa Mesa
  • William W. Smith Jr., president, CEO and chairman, Smith Micro Software – Aliso Viejo
  • Rajesh Shrotriya, CEO, Spectrum Pharmaceuticals – Irvine
  • Susan Johnson, founder and CEO, Susan’s Healthy Gourmet – Irvine 
  • Gerald Fitch, president & CEO, Teridian Semiconductor Corp. – Irvine
  • Hayes Drumwright, CEO, TRACE3 – Irvine
  • Joseph John Duran, CEO, United Capital Financial Advisers – Newport Beach
  • Kirsten Mangers, founder and CEO, WebVisible Inc. – Irvine

Other semifinalists:

  • Andy Lee, CEO, Alorica – Chino
  • James D. Tuton, CEO, American Traffic Solutions –Scottsdale
  • Jeremy Freer, president and CEO, Angel Jet Services – Scottsdale
  • Deborah A. Weidenhamer, CEO, Auction Systems Auctioneers & Appraisers – Phoenix
  • David Jumonville, CEO, Caltrol – Las Vegas
  • William A. Eckholm, president and CEO, FireTrace USA, – Scottsdale
  • Sunhil Kohli & Rita Mediratta, COO and president, Health Plus Inc. – Chino
  • Don Scales, president and CEO, iCrossing – Scottsdale
  • Clate Mask, co-founder and CEO, InfusionSoft – Gilbert
  • James R. Schweikert, president and CEO, Liberty Distribution Co. Chandler
  • Chuck Vermillion, CEO, OneNeck IT Services – Scottsdale
  • John Dennis Musil, CEO, The Apothecary Shops – Phoenix
  • Craig Hughes, founder and CEO, Total Transit Inc. – Glendale

Related headlines
Quality Systems ranks among Forbes list of the fastest-growing tech firms
Costa Mesa-based MegaPath and San Jose-based Covad merge
Extron Electronics begins construction on expanded headquarters