• May 2015
Add an event

Untitled Page

TechAmerica names O.C. Innovation finalists

The program honors local businesses, individuals, products for their achievements in the industry.

BY Ben GibbsPublished: April 21, 2011 02:32 PM

Vizio, Fisker Automotive and FlexEnergy are just a few of the local companies that were named finalists in the upcoming O.C. High-Tech Innovation Awards.

TechAmerica O.C.'s 18th annual program recognizes quality and achievement in the region's tech industry, and it honors local businesses, individuals and products that spur innovation in the county. Finalists were named in categories covering everything from outstanding CEO and tech firm to semiconductor innovation.

In addition, TechAmerica O.C. has partnered with Irvine-based Project Tomorrow and Costa Mesa-based Emulex to honor local industry educators and students in a special award segment.

"This region boasts many noteworthy individuals, companies, and products that help advance the business of technology not only in Orange County but also throughout the world," said Bob Brunson, director of TechAmerica Orange County. "This year we saw a record number of 100 nominations, including many from companies new to the competition. We congratulate all of this year's finalists, and look forward to celebrating their achievements with them and the local business community."

Winners will be revealed at the awards ceremony, which is slated for June 9 at the Hyatt Regency Irvine.

Here's a look at this year's finalists:

Outstanding CEO
Powerwave Technologies – Ronald J. Buschur (Santa Ana)
Quality Systems – Steven T. Plochocki (Santa Ana)
VIZIO Inc. – William Wang (Irvine)

Outstanding Technology Company
Quality Systems (Santa Ana)
SRS Labs (Santa Ana)
VIZIO, Inc. (Irvine)

Harvey Mudd College Green Engineering Award
Amonix (Seal Beach)
Fisker Automotive (Irvine)
Flex Energy Inc.(Irvine)
Greenway Design Group Inc. (Huntington Beach

Innovative Product/Technology in 2010

Evantix (Aliso Viejo)
Mavenlink (Irvine)
Reazon Systems (Santa Ana)
Sage (Irvine)
Telogis (Aliso Viejo)
Voice Assist Inc. (Lake Forest)

CMS Products (Irvine)
EADS North America Test & Services (Irvine)
ViridiSTOR LLC (Tustin)

Internet E-Commerce
WiseWindow (Irvine)
OrderCup (Rancho Santa Maragarita)
AdvancedEMedia Inc. (Aliso Viejo)

Medical Devices
VQ OrthoCare (Irvine)
Masimo (Irvine)
Sequent Medical (Aliso Viejo)

Broadcom (Irvine)
Rfaxis Inc. (Irvine)

Emulex (Costa Mesa)
Parsec Automation Corp. (Brea)
SRS Labs (Santa Ana)

Applied Voice & Speech Technologies (Foothill Ranch)
Powerwave Technologies (Santa Ana)
StreamQuik Inc. (Irvine)

Project Tomorrow Innovation in Education Finalists

Emerging Student Innovator
Rahia Zaidi, Brea Olinda High School
Aliza Braunstein, Dana Hills High School

High Impact Teacher in Science, Math and Technology
Betty Cappelletti, JSerra Catholic High School
Catherine Nolan, San Juan Hills High School
David Knight, University High School

Innovation School Program in Science, Math and Technology
A. Greg Bowden, Ed. D., principal, Canyon High School
Kevin Rafferty, principal, Davis Magnet School
Lynn Matassarin, principal, Sierra Vista Middle School

Related headlines
HireRight launches enhanced screening service
Fujitsu moves manufacturing to New York
Irvine Scientific moves on plan to increase its capacity